Forum 69 Photos

More than 100 photos are presented here from the AHS International 69th Annual Forum & Technology Display, May 20-23, 2013, Phoenix Convention Center, Phoenix, Arizona.

Photos include exhibits, special sessions, presentation awards, the Micro Air Vehicle (MAV) Student Challenge, Nikolsky Lecture and the Modeling & Simulation Short Course. Photos by Jason L. Pereira and Ken Kriehbel. 


  • Opening General Session

    Prof. Peretz Friedmann, The University of Michigan
    33rd Alexander A. Nikolsky Honorary Lectureship
    AHS Chair Steve Mundt
    AHS Forum 69 CEO Panel
    AHS Forum 69 CEO Panel
    Andrew Drweiga, moderator
    Dan Schultz, Lockheed Martin
    Dr. James Wang, AgustaWestland
    Eurocopter's Yves Favennec
    John Garrison, Bell Helicopter
    Leanne Caret, The Boeing Company
    Mick Maurer, Sikorsky Aircraft
    Mike Hirschberg, AHS Executive Director
    Opening General Session
    Questions from the audience
    Questions from the audience
    Questions from the audience

  • Special Sessions and Panel

    Ben Hein (AHS HPH Chair), Cameron Robertson (AeroVelo), Will Staruk (U. Maryland), Tayler Jones (Cal Poly) and Mike Hirschberg (AHS)
    Human Powered Helicopter Panel
    Susan Gorton (NASA), Terry Palmer (Metro Aviation), Jorge Casello (FAA), Dick Healing (former NTSB) and Alex Youngs (Vector Aerospace)
    Technologies for Civil Operations Panel
    HPH: Will Staruk (U. Maryland)
    HPH: Tayler Jones (Cal Poly)
    Dr. John Leverton (consultant), Dr. Eric Greenwood (NASA), Ed DiCampli (HAI), Yves Favennec (Eurocopter), Somen Chowdhury (AHS) and Jeff Jacquart (Clark County Department of Aviation)
    Helicopter Noise Panel
    Gen Tim Crosby presented in person; his program managers were linked by video and teleconference.
    Army Program Briefings
    Mark Dreier (Bell Helicopter) presented the Short Course on Rotorcraft and Wind Turbine Modeling and Simulation
    Short Course
    HPH: Ben Hein (AHS HPH Chair)
    HPH: Cameron Robertson (AeroVelo)
    Dan Newman, AHS Technical Director, lead a panel of Supplier CEOs and VPs, entitled “Critical Path: Suppliers and Subsystems Technologies”
    Supplier Panel

  • Grand Awards Banquet

    Sikorsky/Tata S-92 Cabin International Transition Team
    AgustaWestland International Helicopter Fellowship Award
    Robert B. Bossler, Bossler Technical Service, Engineering Consultant
    AHS Honorary Fellow Award
    Nicholas D. Lappos, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, Senior Technical Fellow
    AHS Honorary Fellow Award
    Prof. Omri Rand, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
    AHS Technical Fellow Award
    Kenneth H. Landis, The Boeing Company, Senior Manager, Flying Qualities
    AHS Technical Fellow Award
    Jimmy Charles Narramore, Bell Helicopter, Senior Staff Engineer (retired)
    AHS Technical Fellow Award
    Prof. Farhan Gandhi, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Rosalind and John J. Redfern Jr. ‘33 Endowed Chair in Aerospace Engineering
    AHS Technical Fellow Award
    Peretz P. Friedmann, François-Xavier Bagnoud Professor of Aerospace Engineering, the University of Michigan
    Alexander A. Nikolsky Honorary Lectureship
    Mike Hirschberg (AHS) awarding Phil Alldridge, South Florida Chapter President.
    Annual Membership Increase Award: S. Florida Chapter
    Welcoming address from the Grand Awards Banquet sponsor, The Boeing Company
    Boeing VP, David Koopersmith
    Sergei Sikorsky (right) accepting on behalf of U.S. Coast Guard Air Station Elizabeth City, North Carolina
    Captain William J. Kossler Award
    Aaron Brieger, Southwest Chapter President
    Chapter Membership Increase
    Mike Hirschberg (AHS), Ashok Sylvester and Prof. Marilyn Smith (Georgia Tech)
    Chapter Percentage Increase winner, Atlanta Chapter
    Congratulated by AHS Technical Director Dan Newman (right) on an extraordinary job!
    Forum 69 Chair Michael Smith
    Elizabeth Weiner (University of Maryland Ph.D. student and awards assistant) and Maj Matt Peterson (US Army and aide to Gen Crosby)
    Grand Awards Banquet Dinner
    Steve Mundt (AHS), Gen Crosby (Army), Susan Gorton (NASA), Preston Martin (Army) and Tom Wood (Bell)
    Grover E. Bell Award: Kiowa Aero Improvement Team
    Kurt Robinson (left) accepts the 2013 Daniel Guggenheim Medal on behalf of his father, Frank, founder of Robinson Helicopter. Dr. Ken Rosen (left) is the Guggenheim Committee Chair.
    Guggenheim Award for Frank Robinson
    Apache AH-64E Composite Tailboom Development Team, composed of The Boeing Company and the Army's AATD, AMRDEC and ARL organizations.
    Harry T. Jensen Award
    Sikorsky Aircraft’s Active Ground Resonance Stability Augmentation Design and Test Team
    Howard Hughes Award
    Franklin D. Harris
    John J. Schneider Historical Achievement Award
    Medal of Honor winner MG Pat Brady
    Stephen D. Mundt (right), Vice President, Business Development, EADS North America passes the gavel to the incoming Chair of the Board, John Garrison, President & CEO, Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.
    Passing the Gavel
    Richard Spivey (middle), former director, U.S. Army Aeroflightdynamics Directorate; accompanied by Maj Gen Tim Crosby, US Army
    Paul E. Haueter Award
    Brent Pafford, Graduate Research Assistant, University of Texas, Austin, for his paper, “Magnetohydrodynamic Plasma Actuators for Stall Alleviation"
    Robert L. Lichten Award
    JunSoo Hong, Undergraduate Research Assistant, Washington University in Saint Louis, for his paper “A Fully Nonlinear Version of the Pitt-Peters Dynamic Inflow Model in Axial Flow”
    Robert L. Lichten Runner-Up
    V-22 Large Cell Composite Core Flaperon Team
    Robert L. Pinckney Award
    Supplier Excellence Award, Aurora Flight Sciences
    Supplier Excellence Award
    21 students were awarded a total of $50,000 in scholarships. See
    VFF Scholarship Award Recipients

  • Additional Awards

    Lt. Col. (Ret) Paul Fardink was the recipient of the AHS History Committee’s Bernard Lindenbaum Award for best historical paper, for his documentation of “An Interview with Major General Patrick H. Brady, Dust Off Innovator and Medal of Honor Recipient.”
    Bernard Lindenbaum Award for Best Historical Paper
    Thorben Schönenberg (DLR) – center
    Ian Cheeseman Award for Best Paper at ERF
    SunJoo Hong (Washington University in St. Louis) – center
    Robert L. Lichten Runner-Up Winner
    University of Maryland “Dart T690/E550” team
    Student Design Competition Graduate Winners
    Georgia Institute of Technology/Middle East Technical University “Badger” team
    Student Design Competition Undergraduate Winners

  • Micro Air Vehicle Student Challenge

    AHS MAV Student Challenge
    Astro Wren quadrotor
    ASU Astro Wren quadrotor
    PSU Gnittany Gnat single rotor
    PSU Single rotor presentation
    UMD Cyclocopter
    UMD Cyclocopter
    UMD Cyclocopter
    UMD Tiltwing
    UT Austin single rotor Phoenix V

  • Technology Display Exhibits

    A welcoming beginning to Forum 69
    Advanced Composites Engineering
    Advanced Torque Products' exhibit
    Aurora Flight Sciences' Exhibit
    Before the opening of the Exhibit Hall
    Before the opening of the Exhibit Hall
    Boeing ULOR tandem concept
    Continuum Dynamics, Inc.'s exhibit
    Discussions during the Exhibit Hall break
    Harness at Cobham's exhibit
    Hirobo 1-man helicopter at Sikorsky's exhibit
    Lochkeed Martin Unmanned K-MAX
    Lord Corporation's Exhibit
    MD Helicopters MD540F
    MD Helicopters MD540F
    MD Helicopters MD540F
    Rotorcraft Operations Ltd's tiltrotor concept
    S-97 Raider mock-up at Sikorsky's exhibit
    ZF Luftfahrttechnik Electrical Swashplate