Leonardo International Fellowship Award

Leonardo International Fellowship Award

The AgustaWestland International Fellowship Award is given for significant contributions to international vertical flight cooperation. Established in 1989, the award honors the memory of Paolo Bellavita, whose career at Gruppo Agusta was marked by his dedication to furthering international cooperation in the world of vertical flight. The honoree receives a scale replica of the award, a statue of Pegasus.

  • NH90 Program
  • Airbus Helicopters; Leonardo Helicopters; Fokker Technologies

For its successful cooperative assembly lines in 6 countries supplying orders of more than 500 helicopters to 13 countries.
  • UK Search and Rescue (SAR) Team

The SAR missions conducted by Bristow Helicopters Ltd for the United Kingdom's Maritime and Coast Guard Agency involves an extensive international team to design, develop, train the crews, support, maintain and equip the specially-commissioned Sikorsky S-92 and AgustaWestland AW139 and AW189 fleet
  • William E. Chiles
  • CEO Emeritus of the Bristow Group
  • HeliOffshore

Chiles drove a safety culture within Bristow, and by working in partnership with the manufacturers, his customers, and his competitors, he demonstrated a commitment to safety that has become the industry standard
  • US/France Project Agreement on Helicopter Aeromechanics and Human Factors Integration Research

Established in 1971, the international collaboration is heralded as the longest-running, continuous scientific cooperation in rotorcraft for both the US and France. Its goal has been to tackle difficult and complex scientific research problems, to advance basic fundamental knowledge, and to perform precompetitive technology development, all to the benefit of the rotorcraft research and development community
  • S-92 Cabin International Transition Team
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation and TATA

The team progressed from a true "green-field" start-up, built an assembly factory, hired and trained an aerospace workforce, established all supporting processes and procedures and successfully established a helicopter cabin assembly line producing at the required rate to support operations
  • HART II International Workshop Team

For assembling a worldwide effort to conduct analysis of higher harmonic control of rotors. This has led to numerous achievements such as validation of solvers and a deep understanding of blade vortex interaction mechanisms and their impact on rotor noise and vibrations
  • Bell 429 CertificationTeam
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.

For succeeding in certifying the Bell 429 for Day/Night VFR, Single and Dual Pilot IFR, and Category A by all three of the regulatory agencies involved during 2010.
  • International Helicopter Safety Team
  • International Rotorcraft Capability
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation and PZL Mielect
  • Dr. Pietro Alli
  • Chief Technical Officer
  • AgustaWestland
During the past two years, Mr. Alli has been highly active in the design of the VH-71 Increment 1 and Increment 2 helicopter for the President of the United States. In addition, he united Agusta engineering in Cascina Costa and Westland Helicopters engineering in Yeovil into a single, integrated organizational unit.
  • The 609 Civil Tiltrotor Team
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc. and AgustaWestland
This award highlights the successful first flight of the second 609 prototype at the Agusta facility in Italy in 2006. This unique program will have developmental and certification flight testing in both countries and involved real-time data sharing and vehicle configuration management on a concurrent basis.
  • The Boeing/CIRA (Italian Aerospace Research Center) Team

For their significant achievements in advancing the process and procedures for icing prediction using state-of-the-art CFD codes.
  • The Fly-by-Wire Research Team
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation and Canada National Research Council
Significant achievements in developing advanced Fly-by-Wire flight control laws.
  • No Award Presented
  • Singapore Apache Team
  • Boeing Co., Singapore Technologies Aerospace, Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fir Control, General Electric Aircraft Engines, Longbow International, Singapore Defense Science & Technology and US Army Aviation & Missile Command.
  • The Singapore Apache Team
  • The Boeing Co., Singapore Technologies Aerospace, Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fire Control, General Electric Aircraft Engines, Longbow Internatinal, Defense Science & Technology, US Army Aviation & Missile Command
Dr. Jake Rutherford, Milly Tay, Michael Taylor, Ed Birtwell, Michael Taylor, Lim Wee Kheng, Colonel Ralph Pallotta
  • The International WAH-64 Apache Team
  • GKN Westland Helicopters, The Beoing Company, Rolls-Royce Turbomeca, Lockheed Martin and Longbow International
  • The S-92 International Development Team
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation
  • Somen Chowdhury
  • Barney O'Shea

For his active and continuing promotion of international vertical flight cooperation. He is also the founder of the AHS Australia Chapter.
  • Helmut Huber
  • The Higher-Harmonic Control Aeroacoustic Rotor Test (HART) Program Team
  • International Individual Blade Control Program
  • US Army Aeroflightdynamics Directorate
  • Sergei I. Sikorsky
  • Marat Tishchenko
  • James Erickson, John J. Shapley, Robert Weaver and the FAA Rotorcraft Directorate Regulations Group

For their efforts to harmonize FAA and European Joint Airworthiness Authority standards.
  • Ian C. Cheeseman

Selected for his leadership in international vertical flight cooperation, exemplified by the ERF Award named for him.
  • John F. Zugschwert
  • Executive Director
  • AHS